Child Life Annual Conference

2018ChildLifeRegisterButtonOrangee54e26(126pxby26px)
Local Attractions

Capital_Wheel_at_National_Harbor,_Maryland,_USA_(Lit_Up_at_Night)

The 2018 Child Life Annual Conference will take place at the Gaylord National Harbor Resort in Oxon Hill, Maryland—just minutes outside of DC. Attendees can enjoy stunning views of the waterfront along with luxury shopping, exquisite dining, and entertainment. Notable attractions include:

- The Capital Wheel: http://thecapitalwheel.com 

- MGM National Harbor Casino: https://www.mgmnationalharbor.com

- The Carousel: http://thecapitalwheel.com/carousel

To explore more things to do at the Gaylord National Harbor Resort, visit: https://www.nationalharbor.com/play

**Attendees can also take the Water Taxi from Gaylord National Harbor Resort to Old Town, Alexandria, and the National Mall in DC as a neat alternative transportation option** For more details, visit: https://www.potomacriverboatco.com/water-taxi/national-mall 


Washington, DC

washington-d-1622643_640

The nation's capital is jam-packed with exciting activities for the whole family to enjoy. From its world-renowned museums (many of which are free to the public) to its vibrant cultural amenities, the city is a tourist's paradise. Prime destinations include: 

- National Museum of Natural History: http://naturalhistory.si.edu/visit

- Georgetown: http://www.georgetowndc.com

- Freer Gallery of Art / Arthur M. Sackler Gallery: https://www.freersackler.si.edu

- Ford's Theatre: https://www.fords.org

- The Kennedy Center: http://www.kennedy-center.org

- International Spy Museum: https://www.spymuseum.org

- Embassy Row: http://www.freetoursbyfoot.com/washington-dc-tours/embassy-row

Learn more about DC's dazzling attractions by visiting: https://washington.org/find-dc-listings/all-things-to-do


Old Town, Alexandria

Old Town Alexandria

Situated along the Potomac River waterfront, just outside of DC, Old Town is a picturesque community lined with over 200 independent restaurants and boutiques. Many establishments also feature 18th and 19th century architecture. There's also a free trolley that allows visitors to easily explore historic King Street. Attractions include:

- King Street

- Torpedo Factory Art Center

- Carlyle House

- Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum

Learn more about Old Town's treasures by visiting: https://www.visitalexandriava.com/old-town-alexandria


Mount Vernon

Mount Vernon Mansion

Mount Vernon was the former estate of President George Washington. The restored mansion itself features three floors of beautiful 18th century architecture and decor. It gives visitors a more in-depth visual of Washington's living experience. In addition to exploring the Mansion's numerous rooms, attendees can also enjoy:

- Distillery & Gristmill

- Botanical Garden

- The Tombs

- The Slave Memorial

- Pioneer Farm

Learn more about this American historical landmark by visiting: http://www.mountvernon.org/the-estate-gardens

Professional Development