Chicago Bean


2018ChildLifeRegisterButtonOrangee54e26(126pxby26px)
2018ChildLifeRegisterButtonOrangee54e26(145pxby20px) Event App
Local Attractions


The 2019 Child Life Annual Conference will take place at the Chicago Marriott Magnificent Mile. This regal location is at the epicenter of many of Chicago's premier landmarks, attractions, and upscale boutiques. Within walking distance, attendees can enjoy a musical, take a relaxing stroll in the park, gaze at the city's architectural masterpieces, and so much more. In addition, attendees can take a Free Chicago Trolley or a water taxi as alternative transportation options. 




Grant Park

Buckingham Fountain

Buckingham Fountain




Grant Park encompasses many of Chicago's prestigious landmarks and attractions. Situated along 319 acres, the park also features tennis courts, baseball diamonds, incredible gardens, and Buckingham Fountain (one of the world's largest fountains). Notable destinations in Grant Park include:

- Art Institute of Chicago: http://www.artic.edu

- Chicago Lakefront Trail: https://www.traillink.com/trail/chicago-lakefront-bike-path

- Lincoln Park Zoo: https://www.lpzoo.org 

For more info about Grant Park, visit: https://vacationidea.com/illinois/grant-park-chicago.html




Chicago Theatre

Chicago Theatre




The Chicago Theatre is one of America's earliest grand movie palaces. It was constructed in the French Baroque style, featuring many elements of the country such as - a miniature replica of the Arc de Triomphe, the grand lobby modeled after the Royal Chapel at Versailles, and the grand staircase imitating the style of the Paris Opera House. The Chicago Theatre has hosted many prominent musicians including - Kelly Clarkson, Aretha Franklin, Harry Connick Jr., Diana Ross, and Dolly Parton. 





Millennium Park

Millenium Park




Millennium Park features 25-acres of marvelous public art, landscapes, and architecture. It is one of the biggest free attractions in Chicago. Some of the parks enticing attractions include:

- The Jay Pritzer Pavillion: http://www.jaypritzkerpavilion.com

- Cloud Gate "The Bean" sculpture: http://millenniumparkfoundation.org/places/cloud-gate

- Lurie Garden: https://www.luriegarden.org

- Crown Fountain: http://millenniumparkfoundation.org/places/crown-fountain

For more information about Millennium Park, visit: https://www.chicagotraveler.com/chicago_millennium_park.htm




Navy Pier

Navy Pier Farris Wheel and Carousel




Originally completed over a century ago, Navy Pier has become one of the city's most precious treasures located on Lake Michigan. The 3,300 foot-long pier offers a bevy of entertainment, shopping, dining, and cultural amenities. Here are some of the many fun-filled destinations attendees can visit at the pier:

- Chicago Children's Museum: http://www.chicagochildrensmuseum.org 

- Polk Bros Park: https://navypier.org/attractions/polk-bros-park

- Centennial Wheel: https://navypier.org/attractions/ferris-wheel

- Amazing Chicago’s Funhouse Maze: http://www.amazingchicago.com

- Richard H Driehaus Gallery of Stained Glass: http://driehausmuseum.org




Adler Planetarium

Chicago Adler Planetarium




Established in 1930, Adler Planetarium is a museum dedicated to the study of astronomy and astrophysics located on Lake Michigan. It was America's first planetarium and is officially recognized as a national historic landmark on the National Register of Historic Places. It features three full-size theaters, a myriad of exhibitions, and the Doane Observatory.  





Willis Tower

willis-towers-890353_640





Formerly known as Sears Tower, Willis Tower is the second tallest building in the United States standing at 110-stories! The skydeck, located on the 103rd floor, offers spectacular views of up to 50 miles and 4 states. Additionally, visitors can participate in interactive virtual tours of Chicago with touch screens. Check out the video below for more details on the Skydeck experience. 





Professional Development