ACLP Awards

ACLP honors outstanding leaders in the field of child life annually through three prestigious awards:

  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Mary Barkey Clinical Excellence Award
  • Research Awards

Distinguished Service Award

Since 1988, the Association of Child Life Professionals has honored the child life profession’s leaders and pioneers with the annual Distinguished Service Award.

The Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor presented by the ACLP Board of Directors, recognizing exceptional leaders for outstanding contributions to the field of child life. 

Learn More

Mary Barkey Clinical Excellence Award

The ACLP Mary Barkey Clinical Excellence Award is presented annually to an individual child life specialist who has demonstrated exemplary child life care and a high level of clinical skill.

Learn More

Research Awards

Annually, ACLP presents two research recognition awards, the Professional and Student Research Recognition Awards.

The Professional Research Recognition Award honors significant work by a child life specialist, and the Student Research Recognition Award acknowledges research conducted by a student.

Learn More